How are you…REALLY?

Mary Harmening
2 min readApr 11, 2022

“Cast all your anxiety on Him because He cares for you.”
‭‭1 Peter‬ ‭5:7‬ ‭NIV‬‬

This was the perfect scripture for the week to be reminded of and meditate on. We felt like this week we really needed to catch the heartbeat of what’s going on in the lives of others that God has placed on our path. He has shown us how important it really is to ask such a simple question as “How are you?”

As we go through day after day, week after week, month after month and year after year, how many times have you been asked “How are you?” How many times have you been truthful? I know for me I have the canned answers…”Good, how about you?” “We’re making it.” “One day at a time,” “Can’t complain.” Sound familiar? Truth is…..I don’t want to be truthful, and say how I really am. That would be too much to explain. When is the last time you truly asked someone else “how are you?” and wanted to hear how they are? We rush through life. Why do we do that? What’s waiting? What’s more important than people? Really? How much sweeter would life be if we would slow down and genuinely listen to hear someone else’s heart?

We learn here in 1 Peter 5:7 that we can cast our cares on God because He cares. Even when everyone around me may be wrapped up in their own stuff, God will listen. I can tell him how I really am. I can leave it all at the cross and cast it on Him knowing that He does care for me, and that His plan will prevail. As anxiety swells and begins to take over my heart, I can find rest and talk to God and tell him how I’m feeling and he will comfort me. He will Fight my battles. I need to pray and believe that He hears me! While I am waiting, I am reminded to be an ear for someone else who feels just like me and needs an ear. I can be transparent with God and then be still…..and be present in my own life while God fights for me. I can be a friend and be here for others as I cast my cares and allow God to be God.

“The Lord will fight for you; you need only to be still.””
‭‭Exodus‬ ‭14:14‬ ‭NIV‬‬

Father thank you that you are here. All the time. Thank you that you hear my prayers and that I can cast all my cares on you. Thank you for loving me. And thank you for showing me that others need to be asked how they really are doing, so that I can listen and be a friend. Amen.

Illustrations by Haley Punjak

Edited by Rachel Harmening

--

--