Rejoice in the Wilderness!

Mary Harmening
2 min readMay 7, 2022

--

“Rejoice always, pray continually, give thanks in all circumstances; for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus.” 1 Thessalonians‬ ‭5:16–18‬

My husband and I have been listening to a series on the wilderness. I am learning that the wilderness is when we are provided with what we need during a time that God seems far away. Our desires are on hold but our needs are met. It’s a time when we are tested in our faith; we can either choose to believe His truth and promises or whine and complain. Our heart posture is so important in a wilderness season so we move through it with success. As we walk through tough circumstances, all the impurities are evident to us. Without the pressure, we would not have these character flaws squeezed out and revealed. We can choose to let our flesh take over or we can allow God to mold us in this time, as we are humbled by the season.

We learn in ‭‭1 Thessalonians‬ ‭5:16–18‬ to “Rejoice always, pray continually, give thanks in all circumstances; for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus.” So no matter what, especially in the wilderness, we are to praise Him and pray with a heart postured with gratitude. I admire those who keep a great attitude no matter what. And I can say that I have not always been the one I admire. I get whiny and complain and have to constantly remind myself of His truth! He sees all and He hears us! I believe that the wilderness seasons show us our hearts and what we need to adjust and change. We can choose to confess the sin in our heart as we praise or not! But if we do, He is listening!

“For I cried out to him for help, praising him as I spoke. If I had not confessed the sin in my heart, the Lord would not have listened. But God did listen! He paid attention to my prayer. Praise God, who did not ignore my prayer or withdraw his unfailing love from me.” Psalms 66:17–20 NLT

I’m thankful, Father, that you teach us through life seasons and through your Word. You are faithful. Thank you for loving us and for hearing our prayers in every season! Amen!

Illustrations by Haley Punjak

Edited by Rachel Harmening

--

--